Research on maps for other economies -- anyone up for interviewing?

(Tuomo Alhojärvi) #1

Hi all,

I’ve been silent on this forum and the TransforMap process for a long time due to various reasons. Many things going on here in Finland on this front, and a more-than-full-time job to try and juggle with. This has meant my contribution in this project has unfortunately been very limited.

Anyway, now, I’m happy to have found another route to contribute, at least potentially and hopefully. As part of my PhD research in Human Geography (at the University of Oulu), I’m studying how mapping is used as a strategy for other economies around the world (from TransforMap to green maps, from Intermapping to various solidarity economy projects, etc). I’m most interested in how mapping itself is challenged, reimagined and reinvented in this process. This flows from the premise that we can’t just take a tool (for instance, the map) and turn it against power, as if it were just an innocent instrument and nothing more, but instead need to continuously challenge the very nature of that tool. I see this kind of challenging being done in different ways in different projects – in all the processes that try to take back the map by reinventing it thoroughly.

As part of this project I will be interviewing mappers in different projects. I’m now searching for people in the TransforMap community who would like to share their views on mapping and all of its benefits, contradictions, promises and pitfalls. I’ve already bothered @Silke and @alabaeye a bit, and so far they didn’t seem to object to my approach. :wink: I’m interested in the practical things you’ve learnt during the TransforMap process – but also the more general political analysis that your work with maps is based on. What are maps for? How can they be used? What do they help us to do? How might they fail us? And how do they need to be reinvented?