Theodoros Karyotis @Teo

(Theodoros Karyotis) #1

Hi, this is Teo from Greece.
I am a sociologist by training, and I work as a translator. I participate actively in social movements around self-management, most importantly in the solidarity assembly of the VioMe recuperated factory and Initiative 136 for social control of Thessaloniki’s water service.

I was previously involved in a similar european mapping project, which didn’t prosper due to lack of funds. But we did quite a bit of testing and I will be happy to transfer my experience to this project.
I am based in Thessaloniki, Greece’s second city, but I have quite a bit of knowledge regarding Greece in general.

Once the testing phase is over, I could help find a few more people around Greece, Spain or the U.K. who would be interested in contributing to the project.

Find me on twitter @TebeoTeo or mail me at tkaryotis@gmail.com

(Thomas Kalka) #2

Teo, Welcome on Board !

Could you provide pointers to your prior mapping work?

The Ripess project could need help translating their questionaire to greek.
I have to ask Jason about current status.

(Theodoros Karyotis) #3

Hi Toka,

Unfortunately the map we made is not online anymore, server space is expensive.
It was made in Drupal using Cartaro distribution with openstreetmap.

The project was started after an international strategy meeting, by activists from Greece, Spain, the U.K., Ireland and Belgium. Unfortunately we didn’t manage to get any funding, and the project was too big to go ahead just on volunteer work, especially the tech side.

Cheers!
Teo

What remains online are the collective documents we created, which outline the technical and political discussions we had. I don’t know if it can be of any use to you, but I am sure the rest of the team will not mind if I share it here: https://mappingcommonstruggles.titanpad.com/12

I may be able to help with translations, but not before early June, sorry! I am very tied up.

(Michael Maier) #4

Hi @Teo,