Why is our taxonomy needs based?

Hi, this is my first try: please help improving the text

• are the basic arguments correct?
  • are they understandable for everybody
    Please provide better examples to illustrate the ideas.

I will take care of further editing of this post
Thank you.

updated version: June 29

Anybody who has tried to discuss categories for a taxonomy knows that it is hard, if not impossible to match values and to build consensus around the understanding/meaning of terms.
Moreover, meanings are different in different languages and cultures.
However, everybody, wherever in the world experiences hunger and thirst, needs
clothes and shelter, social relationships and education. Everybody has
needs. The way they are satisfied varies, but the needs themselves are somewhat universal. Everybody needs to eat and drink. Everybody needs to participate in social and cultural life to thrive as a human being.
Our core-belief is, that a framework for building a new economy and a free, fair and sustainable society will be based on people and their needs and not on “the market” and how to make profit.
Finally, other taxonomies can be easily connected to this needs-based taxonomy, as the respective concepts are not in conflict with each other.
To put an example:
A taxonomy contains the category “hackerspace.” You wish to use it and wonder how it connects to the TransforMap taxonomy.
-> You simply wonder: What does a hackerspace provide? What kind of need does a hackerspace meet? -> You will find in our taxonomy: “object of utilities” ; “learning opportunities” and “community” -> Choose them and add them to your existing map.

1 Like

People’s basic needs

@TDoennebrink - no, Thomas, it’s not only about basic needs, we have included several levels of needs (according to several scientific approaches to the needs concept)

@silke I would actually ask for moving from calling it “TransforMap Taxonomy” to “Transformap Meta-Taxonomy”.

Reasons are,